International Programming Competition

  • COSTAATT Student-programmers Participate in International Competition

    • 26/10/2017
    • Posted By : ksaunders
    • Comments Off on COSTAATT Student-programmers Participate in International Competition

    Three students from the School of Business and Information Technologies under the team name “Brogrammers” participated and placed third in the Trinidad and Tobago Association of Computing Machinery International Collegiate Programming (ACM-ICPC) Finals. Teelon Mitchell (BSc Computer Information Systems), Adrian John (BSc Internet Technology) and Nigel Franco (BSc Computer Information Systems), coached by Senior Lecturer Stacy Williams, participated in the finals, which were held at the University of the West Indies in October.  This placement qualified the team to participate in the regional leg of the competition, which takes place at La Universidad Central “Marta Abreu” de las Villas, Cuba on November 11th 2017.

    The ACM International Collegiate Programming Contest (ICPC) is a multitier, team-based, programming competition operating under the auspices of ACM and headquartered at Baylor University. It is the oldest, largest, and most prestigious programming contest in the world. The contest involves a global network of universities hosting regional competitions that advance teams to the ACM-ICPC World Finals. Participation has grown to several tens of thousands of the finest students and faculty in computing disciplines at almost 3,000 universities from over 100 countries on six continents. The contest fosters creativity, teamwork, and innovation in building new software programs, and enables students to test their ability to perform under pressure.  Teams of three students are required to solve 8 to 12 problems.

    COSTAATT was invited to participate in the competition by the University of the West Indies, who had been participating for a number of years.  In order to compete, students had to be full-time members of the college for less than 4 years.  Mr. Roger Chung, Chair (Ag.) of the Department of Information, Science and Technology, was instrumental in encouraging student participation in the competition through social media as well as the programmers club. Out of a total of nine (9) responses, the three (3) students who met the criteria were selected.

    COSTAATT extends its support to team “Brogrammers” as they represent the college at this prestigious competition.

    ~ Michelle Salandy
    BA Mass Communication Student
    Ken Gordon School of Journalism and Communication Studies